Couch 2 5k

I wanted to write this blog to document what has happened so far since I took up this running initiative. It started about 5 weeks ago. I went for coffee with James and my Dad and I got really sad. It was a mood I couldn’t shift and it made me feel like I didn’t want to talk. For the rest of the day I felt low and I suggested to James that I may need to see my Doctor. “No,” responds James, “try changing diet and exercise first, there must be other ways.” I didn’t want to put this burden on him anymore so I did decide to do something, I’d start running.

My first run was a disaster. I opened the door and just started running, I barely made it to the bottom of the road. I went around the block, mostly walking with short bursts of running, and then returned home. I did feel good about it though. After this run I googled tips on running and was led to this podcast:

http://www.nhs.uk/LiveWell/c25k/Pages/couch-to-5k.aspx

This was a programme designed for people like me who were complete running newbs. I read up a lot and immediately downloaded weeks 1-3.

The programme is simple. The podcasts talk you through your run. Week 1 consists of 60 seconds of running followed by 90 seconds of walking for 20 minutes, Week 2 consists of 90 seconds or running followed by 90 seconds of walking for 20 minutes, and Week 3 consists of 90 seconds running, 90 seconds walking, 3 minutes running, 3 minutes walking for 20 minutes. This increases over 9 weeks until you can run for 30 minutes. You complete each podcast three times a week, allowing for rest days, before moving on to the next podcast.

Straight away I realised where I was going wrong, to start with each podcast has a 5 minute brisk walk. This gets you ready before doing anything. Then the narrator, Laura, talks you through was to do. Keep things slow is the main thing you need to remember.

I completed my first run of Week 3 today and feel great about it. It may only be 3 minutes of consistent running but remembering how I felt after 90 seconds last week I’m shocked how easy it was. I could’ve run for longer. However the podcasts are working and I refuse to do anything other than what they tell me.

I bought new running shoes yesterday as I had completed 2 weeks. They were fantastic today, felt very natural. And I cannot wait until my next run!

My mood has changed drastically. I haven’t felt so low. I did get upset at work last week, something like that cannot be changed quite so well. But my overall mood is happy. I haven’t had a low day in a while.

This works so well for me, if you are considering running, have just started, or think it is too much please try the first podcast! The feeling of completing a run is amazing!

Leave a Reply

