My first 20 minute run in 3 months

Yes, I haven’t been running. I did a couple after Christmas but with the new work timetable it became difficult to even run twice a week. My hip was pretty bad too. I can have as many excuses as I like, but I needed to get back on the horse.

I started last Monday with a 5 minute walk, 10 minute run, 3 minute walk, 10 minutes run, 5 minute warm down walk. (Known as Week 6 Run 2 to you couch 2 5k nerds.) I did this again on Wednesday and they were both a bit sluggish. I didn’t want to push myself too hard and give up.

Today I did a 5 minute warm up walk, 20 minute run, 5 minute warm down walk. Week 5 Run 3. I was extremely happy with this run. With such a long break and no real exercise to take its place I couldn’t imagine taking on 20 minutes and I had been nervous before. But in reality this was an easy run for me, easier than the 2 sets of 10 minutes. I could’ve gone for longer too.

Coming back into running after 3 months I knew it would be stupid to take on 30 minutes, but it was difficult to decide where I did place myself in terms of Couch 2 5k.

(For those of you unaware Couch 2 5K is an awesome running podcast series by the NHS, which is free, that will get you from no running experience to running for 30 minutes and approximately 5k. It is amazing, just search couch 2 5k).

But I think I picked the right ones. I’ll do a few more 20 minute runs to get myself back into the swing of it before moving on to 25 minutes, 28, and finally back to 30 minutes.

I was inspired by the marathon last weekend. I want to get to that level. I should challenge myself but that never really works out. For now I’ll challenge myself to be back to 5k by the summer. That sounds fair. I can take it from there.

Leave a Reply

