One Week In Guiding

This may be a scandalous post. Telling the truth on how much of your life Girlguiding can take. Hopefully those joining as volunteers to Girlguiding will have a lot of support and a team to share the workload. At the moment I don’t have a lot of this (or I just take on too much). At the weekend there were a few comments about, well my ability as a leader. With all the time I dedicate to the girls I don’t think it should really be questioned.

Thursday – Brownies. Before I work I must be up early to print the letters and the starter activity. During work, whenever I can spare my mind, my thoughts go to what I need to say during the evening.

The event itself, straight from work we run the meeting. We did career charades, discussing Big Brownie Birthday Challenge activities and deciding our Six Code of Conduct. After the meeting I then try to find any spare uniform we have for the Brownie getting enrolled next week. Clear up the meeting. Head home for something to eat.

Friday – After work pack my day backpack, make a packed lunch, check the route to the campsite.

Saturday – Up at 6am, meet at 8:30am, arrive at campsite 9:30am, full day of activities including running a wide game activity, cheering on the girls, running to the car in the rain to collect a waterproof, encouraging the girls to sing at the campfire, all bundling back into the cars at 9:30pm and home at 10:30pm.

Sunday – Up early for Church Parade. Welcome new girls to their first service and explain a few things that happen. Select a couple girls to help take service collection. Spend 5 minutes explaining it to a younger girl who then turns it down. Finding a Guide to do it instead. Talking to our three Brownies who have moved onto Guides to explain what they need to do and say in the flying up ceremony after Church. Finding 3 girls in uniform to parade the flag. Explaining the only one capable of carrying the flag where to go and what to do. Reminding the girls to wait for a Brownie who walks a lot slower. Getting up during the parade hymns to assist a Brownie getting up and down the steps. Helping the new girls find the hymns in the books and reminding to stand up straight.

Taking the Brownies over for the flying up ceremony and saying goodbye to a few old friends.

Going to Poundland and Wilko to buy bamboo, twig fences and planters for the girls’ insect houses next week.

Monday – Before work cutting up the twig fence to be used in the insect house.

Checking out waiting list / waiting to transfer list to put the girls in order of when they will join. Replying to new enquiries. Writing a letter to be sent to a new parent who hasn’t replied.

Tuesday – Replying to local paper about what we are doing for Big Brownie Birthday. Driving to a Brownie house to drop off uniform for next week.

Cutting up bamboo for insect houses. Researching the cost of Alice bands and pipe cleaners for district event. Researching the costs, times and facilities at two planned activities for Summer day trip. Write Brownie letter for Thursday.

Wednesday – I still need to call the two places for the day trip to provisionally book. And head to the bank to pay in some subs cheques.

Wednesday should be my day off, however I’ve been asked to do some overtime as there is an urgent job to be completed. I’m going in a little late to give me time to complete these errands but there was plenty more I could’ve done with the day.

As you can see my week has been pretty busy with Brownie related items. (And these are just the things I remember). Therefore when I am then asked in front of parents if I know what I’m doing you can see why I may get offended. Some things may slip our minds, but our fellow leaders should be there to support one another rather than this strange one-upmanship that can occur. After all this work I don’t see why parents should be left with the impression I am not capable. That is just unfair.

I hope this post doesn’t put people off joining as volunteers. Being a leader, you can put in as little or as much effort as you like. I didn’t need to offer the uniform to the new girl, or drop it at her house, but I wanted to help. Some units don’t even offer day trips. Or perhaps there is a parent who would offer to organise this for you. You don’t need to offer to assist other groups with their day trips either. Or even run challenge badges like the Big Brownie Birthday that require some organising. I enjoy what I do, sometimes it can overwhelm but it is still my hobby. I do as much as I can (this doesn’t even go into the website I made for my unit, again another hobby of mine) because I enjoy it. And I’m pretty sure I am capable too.

4 thoughts on “One Week In Guiding

  1. Your Brownies are very lucky to have you!! I hope that you haven’t had an unfortunate situation with a parent for a while. If only they could walk a mile in your shoes! You are most definitely a capable leader!! 🙂

    Reading about all the little things you do over the course of the week reminded me of just how much time Leader’s do dedicate to Guiding. Banking, buying craft supplies, sending emails etc. And that’s not even counting events outside the normal unit meeting.

  2. How annoying – leaders should absolutely be there to support each other. It’s a good reminder that what people see at meetings and events is only part of the story, and there’s so much good leaderiness that goes on behind the scenes to make it happen. Keep on with the good guiding!

Leave a Reply

