Community Action – Phase 3

Phase 3 of an octant is a long-term commitment and should take at least 30 hours, can include gaining a qualification or teaching something to others. My Phase 3 is something I committed to for a year, but for documenting the activity this project I wrote this up following 9 months…

Phase 3: Continue assisting Post Pals with Fortnightly Writing

I decided to continue my work with Post Pals, continued writing fortnightly to Ruby and also took on a second fortnightly pal, Kaleb aged 7. I started writing to him about similar topics as I was writing to Ruby, I liked to include drawings, colouring pages and sometimes a gift.

A small project I started in this time was drawing superhero characters based on some of the girls who needed extra care. I left them black and white so the children could colour them in themselves. After spending five hours on these cards I decided to concentrate on writing longer letters to Ruby and Kaleb and making cards. I tried to brighten some cards with stickers, used old leaflets to cut out animals to create interesting cards and would use the images on the front to make games for the children.

During these months I created a feltie character for Kaleb of a zomling, plus drew a colouring page of all the characters. I took on another monthly project all about the senses for a 13 year old boy, Jack. He enjoyed Doctor Who so found him an audio CD for sound, optical illusions for sight and soap lego for smell.

2

I moved on to making themed cards for Ruby and Kaleb with the photo of each child as if they were a character. These included space, the jungle, underwater and superheros. Inside the card I wrote a little about what they would need to learn about to get these jobs and continued writing about what I had been doing and also about the adventures the Brownies were doing.

As a side project, with the spare time I had, I enjoyed making a Pokemon themed card for a brother and sister who both enjoyed the games. On this I included their photos and drew them as Pokemon trainers with their Pokemon around them.

I think this is a very worthwhile charity and hope the cards I send might cause a little happiness. I plan to continue writing to Ruby and Kaleb on a regular basis. If you can offer some time please check out the charity here.

2 thoughts on “Community Action – Phase 3

  1. What a great thing to do for Community Action. The bits and pieces in your photos look brilliant, and you’ve clearly put lots of time and effort into making them special for the children. It looks like a well deserved octant!

    • Thank you! It was a difficult octant to find an activity for, between work, Brownies and running Free Being Me sessions I couldn’t commit to another set day and time so this project fit around my schedule. I also love the charity, such a simple idea which can have a massive affect. Thanks for taking a look!

Leave a Reply

