Out of Doors – Phase 2

Phase 2 of an octant should take at least 12 hours to complete, it can be a continuation of Phase 1 or something new. For my Phase 2 I went camping for the very first time!

Phase 2: Volunteer at Wellies and Wristbands

This was my first experience of camping with guiding and volunteering at a Guide and Senior Section event. I stayed at Foxlease from Thursday 27th August to Monday 31st August, camping for four nights.

Setting up camp on the first evening was easier than I expected, and carrying my equipment up to Katherine Wilson campsite wasn’t too difficult either. I was worried about the campsite shower! But this was fine too.

DSCF4766

I had been assigned to the activities team and was allocated shifts at the Hot Tubs and the Cinema. I was shown how to operate, maintain and keep the girls safe around the hot tubs. This task became difficult as you needed to remember which groups had been in the longest! There were fourteen tubs to keep a watch over. The cinema wasn’t much of an outdoorsy activity, but it gave the guides a place to rest and be quiet following their more energetic activities. Whist manning this I was giving out popcorn and slushy drinks, took money and set up the film.

DSCF4745

Because the volunteer team were short staffed I also took on other shifts. On Friday I joined the Meet and Greet team and welcomed guide groups as they arrived at the campsites and helped direct them to their assigned area. On Saturday morning I helped set up the ‘Daily Dash’ – a group of large outdoor games – and put up decorations. I stayed on to help run some races. On Saturday afternoon I did a shift in the Foxlease shop taking money. On Sunday I spent some time running the sports day races, including egg and spoon and sack races, and I also manned some of the inflatable activities.

With my free time I explored the site and saw the great range of activities the girls could take part in. I spent some time having afternoon tea and made a beaded keyring in the craft tent. In the evening I saw some of the bands at the stage.

Over the weekend the weather changed from hot and sunny on Friday to heavy rain on Monday morning so experienced camping in different weathers. I really enjoyed the weekend, and glad I chose the experience camping rather than staying in one of the buildings.

 

3 thoughts on “Out of Doors – Phase 2

  1. Oh, the mud on Monday morning as we tried to haul too much luggage across the field! Oh, the Rangers who should be old enough to know better than to bring nothing but white jeans to anything camp-related!

    I took my girls to Wellies & Wristbands at Foxlease, so I probably crossed paths with you once or twice. It was the first time we’d been away without the local Guide leader who has the licence and invites us to camp with her girls so it was especially exciting for us and we definitely want to go back when we can afford it – there’s so much Senior Section stuff going on this year that we’ve had to put Wellies & Wristbands aside.

    (Also, I have that 2000AD badge on my blanket too!)

    • All the Senior Section opportunities this year are fantastic (so gutted I outgrew TSS weeks before the fun started!) I’m pushing the young leaders to make the most of it though.
      I had that 2000 AD badge on my Brownie sash! So one of my oldest, proud of it.

      • That’s the great thing about being a Ranger leader, getting to be under 26 for as long as you want. Mission Spectacular is all-ages and so is our SWE centenary challenge badge. (What region are you? Do you have a challenge/badge I can add to my collection?)

Leave a Reply

