Personal Values – Phase 2

Phase 2 of an octant should take at least 12 hours to complete, it can be a continuation of Phase 1 or something new. For my Phase 2 I took on a very personal challenge, which had me reflecting on the past 5 years…

Phase 2: Scrapbook of Guiding activities

Since re-joining Guiding at 19 as a unit helper and then leader in training I consider Girlguiding as something I really value. I want to be able to give the girls an assortment of opportunities they would be unlikely to do otherwise, while developing myself as a person too.

Through the scrapbook I have explored the activities and adventures that I have had, and helped organise as an adult member of Girlguiding. I hope that it will also be used to inspire me in the future to continue my work within the organisation.

42

I enjoyed putting together my favourite memories by scrapbook. I tried to use photos of myself involved in the activities as a reminder of the things I have done. I also like to add comments and dates around some images as reminders, especially around mountain-top moments – either for me or the girl I was assisting. I tried to choose activities that were especially the sort that myself, or the Brownies, would only experience within an organisation like this, to show why I value it as a part of my life.

Over the last year I have worked hard to complete as many aspects of Look Wider as I can, and this has led me to try new things I wouldn’t have done otherwise. As more Guiding experiences I added these to the scrapbook throughout the year to remember the experiences I have had thanks to Girlguiding. The final page was reserved for me receiving my Chief Guide Challenge!

43

Leave a Reply

