2. Embrace opportunity

Part 2 of my series on developing great leadership skills based on Girlguiding’s article here:

12 steps to becoming a great leader

“Good leaders make an effort to constantly brush up on their abilities. We’re always amazed at the enthusiasm with which our volunteers take on new challenges, which is why we offer extensive and varied development opportunities to do so.”

One of the upsides to being a leader during my Senior Section years was that I could take on extra opportunities. Having the option to train as a Peer Educator not only allowed me to visit other units and share the knowledge I had learned but it also gave me valuable time to develop my leadership skills.

Training as a Peer Educator took me out of my comfort zone and into a weekend long training with a bunch of people of similar age that I’d never met before. It was confidence building right from the start. Over the weekend we looked at how to lead discussions with the girls, how to tackle safeguarding moments and how to spread the word about what we do.

It involved a lot of team work with a large group of people. It involved leading an activity to a group of fellow Senior Section members. It involved long periods of working with new people. It was a rather draining couple of days for me but I definitely benefitted from it.

I was then able to travel around the county meeting new leaders and their Brownies and Guides. I was welcomed into each new unit and given total control over two weeks of their programme. I created my own resources to help the sessions run smoothly.

Being a Peer Educator was an opportunity I really loved being a part of and I’m so glad I embraced it while I could.

Moving forwards, I plan to continue looking for new opportunities. One in particular I have coming up is a PR/Photography training session which I am excited for. The great thing about Girlguiding is there are plenty of opportunities to take part in. Some seem a little more confusing than others, I have often looked at outdoor activity training and have been so confused about how much work is involved. Maybe once I have the time I will enquire about how these ones work (if I have the funds for it).

Leave a Reply

